Gareth Bate

 

 

Freelance Designer

I'm a freelance designer and visual artist living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I specialize in unique and personal websites for artists and creative organizations and have completed over 30. I've done graphic design and the complete branding for The World of Threads Festival.

Contact me for a consultation.

Questions about Web Design click here.

Phone: 416-530-0057
Email: contact@garethbatedesign.com
Studio: S-17, 401 Richmond St. West, Toronto, M5V 3A8
(Basement orange section)

 

Select Awards, Grants, Scholarships & Honours

Honourary Staff Member, The Art Centre at Central Technical School, 2008</td>
Visual Artist: Emerging Grant, (for Corps Intérieur), Ontario Arts Council, 2008
401 Richmond Career-Launcher Prize, (All Expenses paid 500 sqft studio for one year), OCAD, 2007
Ron Shuebrook Award, (excellence in painting), OCAD, 2007
Edmund Morris Scholarship, (academic achievement), OCAD, 2007
George A. Reid Award, (art writing), OCAD, 2006
Outstanding Student in the 3-Year Art Program, Central Technical School, 2005
Outstanding Student in the 3-Year Art Program, Central Technical School, 2004
Scott Gwilliams Award for Illustration, Central Technical School, 2003
University Entrance Scholarship, University of Ottawa, 2001
 

Select Education

Ontario College of Art & Design (Now OCAD University
Bachelor of Fine Arts with Distinction, Drawing & Painting Thesis, Toronto, 2005-2007
The Art Centre at Central Technical School
Diploma, 3-Year Post-Secondary Adult Art Program, Toronto, 2002-2005
The Ontario Federation of Labour / Canadian Labour Congress
Certificate, SolidarityWORKS! Youth Action Network, Education & Co-op, Toronto, 2004
University of Ottawa & House of Commons Page Program
First Year University & Parliamentary Page, Ottawa, 2000-2001
 

Web Design: Artists

Gareth Bate Art: www.garethbate.com
Sarah Nind: www.sarahnind.com
Nicole Collins: www.nicolecollins.com
Carolyn Dinsmore: www.carolyndinsmore.com
Margaret Glew: www.margaretglew.com
Janet Hunter: www.janethunter.com
Howard Podeswa: www.howardpodeswa.com
Colette Laliberté: www.colettelaliberte.com
Nomi Drory: www.nomidrory.com
Donna Chudnow: www.donnachudnow.com
Jane Murdoch Adams: www.janemurdochadams.com
Nancy Kembry: www.nancykembry.com
Jane LowBeer: www.janelowbeer.com
Sarah Hunter: www.turtlart.ca
Alyse Frampton: www.alyseframpton.com
Sharon Barr: www.sharonbarr.ca
Anne Armstrong: www.annearmstrong.ca
Kendra Sartorelli: www.kendrasartorelli.com
Martin Myers: www.martinmyers.ca
 

Web Design: Organizations & Professionals

World of Threads Festival: www.worldofthreadsfestival.com
Hilary Inwood: www.hilaryinwood.ca
Viniyoga Connection: www.viniyogaconnection.com
K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation: www.kmhunterfoundation.ca
OAEA: Ontario Art Education Association: www.oaea.ca
Nadia & Co. Art & Pastry: www.nadiaandco.com
Elisabeth Pomès: www.elisabethpomes.com
Jane Adams Consulting: www.janeadams.ca
Pelee Island Cottage Rental: www.peleeislandcottage.ca
Gareth Bate Design: www.garethbatedesign.com
 

Graphic Design

2012 World of Threads Festival: Complete Branding: Poster, Banner, Brochure, Website
Wendalyn: Sound Dreaming: CD & DVD album design.
401 Richmond Artists Open Studio: Map, Invite & Poster
2009 World of Threads Festival: Complete Branding: Poster, Banner, Brochure, Website
David Pressault Danse & Danse-Cité: Poster Design for Corps Intérieur with Nicolas Ruel.
Ontario Federation of Labour & Canadian Labour Congress: SolidarityWorks Youth Action Network
Poster and Brochure promoting
 

Set Design

David Pressault Danse & Danse-Cité: Set Design Installation for Corps Intérieur contemporary dance.
The Ontario Federation of Labour / Canadian Labour Congress
Certificate, SolidarityWORKS! Youth Action Network, Education & Co-op, Toronto, 2004
University of Ottawa & House of Commons Page Program
First Year University & Parliamentary Page, Ottawa, 2000-2001